RCU News
RCU News « Home
The annual Loyalty Pledge Scholarship Awards Ceremony 2011
125 Royal College students and 10 Undergraduates empowered to continue excellence

The Loyalty Pledge Management Committee held its 9th annual scholarship awards ceremony, on July 01, 2011, which witnessed 125 students and 10 undergraduates receive their respective scholarships, an increase from 115 student scholarships and 09 undergraduate scholarships in 2010.

Speaking on the occasion, the Principal of Royal College, Mr. Upali Gunasekara thanked the LPMC for continuing to facilitate the students of Royal College, in their quest to receive the best education at the best school, and become competitive in the job market.

The secretary of the Loyalty Pledge Management Committee (LPMC), Mr. Kamal Abeysinghe, while acknowledging the pledges made by his Royal colleagues, emphasized the need for the scholars to be all-rounders, incorporating both academics and co-curricular activities.

He re-iterated the new evaluation scheme to be used as an evaluation tool in the near future, to assess the students' performance would ensure that high standards are maintained on par with expectations of a Royal College scholar, who in turn would be empowered to make the correct career choice.

Similar sentiments were echoed by the Secretary of the Royal College Union, Mr. Manju Ariyaratne, who affirmed that Royal College is the best school in Sri Lanka, and that it is the chief reason that scholars are drawn to joining College, over other schools in the island.

He enthused and urged all Royalists, both from the student cadre and the past Royalists, to keep the love for Royal, as being paramount and also catalyst in governing ones actions to 'repay a debt' to the beloved alma mater. He re-iterated that Royal College's diversity, rich traditions and standards of academics and sporting excellence was instrumental in its students keeping ahead of the competition, and urged the scholars to maintain these standards.

The donors present at the occasion were thanked profusely for their student and undergraduate pledges, by the treasurer of the LPMC, Mr. Ravindra Pitigalage urged all donors to continue their respective pledges for 2011/12.

Two student representatives also spoke on the occasion and said they were thankful for the pledges to ensure that their academic and sporting life was championed. The ceremony also witnessed the participation of the staff of LPMC, teachers of Royal College and well-wishers who graced the occasion.

Donors List 2010/11 - Names of the donors

Mr.S.W.S.Dahanayake Mr.H.M.J.Bandara Mr. Viraj Gunasekara
Mr.J.D.Wijethilake Mr.I.O.K.Sandaruwan Nanayakkara Mr. Maurice Koelmeyer
Mr.A.K.A.Sugath De Silva Dr.A.G.S.Asiri Mr. Dilan Rajapakse
Mr.Mihipal Dissanayake Mr.N.C.D.S.C.Goonasekera Dr. J.S. Nadeeka
Dr.A.P.Weerasuriya Dr.S.M.Dayaratne Mr.C.T.Kahandugoda
Dr.S.D.W.Siriwardena Mr.Pragathi Deldeniya Mr.Y.B.Panditaratne
Dr,R.Nishantha Subasinghe Mr.K.A.L.Sudath Bandara Mr.Sampath Perera (President Group of 81)
Dr.T.J.Tilakaratna Dr.Gayan De Silva Mr.G.M.P.Gunatillaka
Mr.Mohan Molegoda Mr.S.M.M.P.Dissanayake Capt.Upul Peiris
Dr.T.S.D.Kadawathaarachchi Dr.Malik Samarasinghe Dr,.N.A.C.L.Wimalasena
Mr.D.N.Gunasekera Mr.J.B.Meegalla Mr.Dasun Laksiri Amarakoon
Dr.S.N.Samarasena Mr.Prabath Fernando Mr.R.N.C.S.Perera
Dr.Sanjeewa Padumadasa Mr.V.I.Dassanayake Mr.P.J.Harshaka Fernando
Mr.M.D.D.N.Wijetunge Mr.S.A.B.Wijeratne Mr.M.S.Mouideen
Dr.K.A.D.D.Jayasekera Mr.S.P.Weliwita Dr.K.A.L.D.Tharaka Ranasinghe
Dr.Duminda Munidasa Mr.G.J.W.De Silva Mr.M.Ananthavel
Dr.P.M.Ajith Prasanna Mr.Dhammike Weerabaddana Mr.A.W.Damitha Silva
Mr.Nalin Ahangama Mr.J.P.M.S.Jayaweera Dr.Y.N.Kulasekera
Mr.C.P.Abeyawickrama Mr. B.M.P. Nanayakkara Mr.Nirosh Janaka Lokuge
Mr.H.H.D.A.L.Siriwardena Mr.S.U. De Silva Mr.K.K.Gayath Hewavitharan
Dr.Nirodha De Silva Royal College Group of 45' Mr.M.A.L.L.S.Munasinghe
Mr.S.H.I.Salih Mr.K.M.G.D.C. Dias Mr.M.D.Dahanayake
Mr.S.W.D.N.Bodhiseela Mr.H.M. Punchihewa Mr.R.L.Dahanayake
Dr.D.P.Ganegoda Mr. T.A. Punsara Aravinda Dr.A.P.De S Bulathge
Mr.S.M.C.L.Samaraweera Mr. K.G.G. Abeywardena Mr.K.H.A.Prabhash Hettiarachchi
Mr.Indika Karunatilaka Dr.P.D.P. Wijayagunawardana Mr.A.A.P.Rodrigo
Mr.P.A.D.S.Jayaratne Mr. Chamika Weerasooriya Dr.M.D.V.M.Gunawardena
Dr.R.P.M.M.Rajapaksha Dr.M. Nalinda Samarakoon Mr.Asela Wijesiriwarane
Dr.M.S.Mowjood Mr.D.P.Jayasuriya & J.R. Warnakulage Mr.N,.C.Vidanagamarachchi
Mr.R.G.Maganaarachchi Mr.Buddhika Dissanayaka Dr.C.M.Gomes
Mr.H.W.S.P.De Silva Dr.G.G.A.K. Kulathunga Mr.Suran Gonnatilake
Dr.Chinthaka Hewavitharane Mr. Buddhika Charith Amarasinghe Old Royalist Association in North America
Dr.Anil Mulkirigala Mr.W.W.E.M.N. Kumara Ekanayake Royal College Doctors Association
Home | Royal | Connect | Give | Members | Newsletters | RCU News | Royal College News  
Related Links | Contact RCU | Feedback    
© 2012. Royal College Union. All rights reserved. Web design & development Sri Lanka by